Hampton Police Employment Standards
Hampton Police Hiring Standards are derived from New Hampshire Police Standards and Training Council (NHPSTC) Administrative Rules. Chapter POL 300 Application and Qualifications contains the Standards that have been established in the State of New Hampshire for hiring a Police Officer. Listed below are some highlights of those standards. Please consult the Administrative Rules for a complete listing of requirements.
- AGE -
Applicant must be at least 18 years of age at the time of application.
- U.S CITIZEN -
NHPSTC Rules require a New Hampshire Police Officer to be a citizen of the United States of America.
- HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA -
Applicant must have a Diploma, GED, or equivalent education at the time of application.
- MARIJUANA -
Must not have used marijuana within 12 months of application.
- DRUGS -
Must not have used any illegal controlled substance other than marijuana within 36 months of the application. (Substitute 24 months if you were under 21 at the time of the usage.)
- DRUG SALES -
Applicants must have NEVER illegally manufactured, transported for sale, or sold a controlled substance.
- CRIMINAL RECORD CHECKS -
Applicants will be fingerprinted to determine the existence of Criminal and Motor Vehicle history.
- FELONY CONVICTION -
No un-pardoned Felony convictions whether or not the charge has been annulled.
- MILITARY DISCHARGE -
Applicants must NOT have received a Dishonorable Discharge from military service.